National Vocational Qualifications Framework (NVQF)

National Vocational Qualifications Framework (NVQF) has been evolved in 2013 with the aim to define skills required for a qualification, determine equivalence, provide guidelines for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and assure quality of training. It will have the following benefits for both the industry and training institutions: (Click here to download NVQF)

  • Vertical & Horizontal Progression for Learners
  • Recognition of Qualification – National & International
  • Facilitate Conversion of Informal Training to Formal Training – RPL
  • Improvement in Quality of Training
  • Increased Options for Learners for Selecting Training Programs

NVQF has been evolved in consultation with stakeholders including academia, researchers, policy makers industry & chambers and TEVTAs. The Framework is aimed at improving the quality of vocational training and to provide vertical and horizontal progression to trainees in the vocational stream. This is done through the following instruments:


Classify skills, knowledge, understanding and competences a person must have in order to perform a job from the basic level to the highest level.


Identify pathways in a vertical sense between the different levels and in a horizontal sense for knowing the equivalence of qualifications achieved in different training and education streams.


Identify a range of appropriate levels of qualifications.


Describe in a generic manner the different levels: what a graduate must know and can do.

Main Features

  • Level descriptors determining knowledge, skills & competency outcomes
  • Rules on Horizontal and Vertical Progression (HVP)
  • Rules on Credit Accumulation and Transfer (CAT)
  • Rules on Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

NVQF Levels

  • Level 1 – Semi Skilled
  • Level 2 – Skilled
  • Level 3 – Highly Skilled
  • Level 4 – Professional Worker
  • Level 5 – Specialist Worker
  • Level 6 – Expert Worker